Interviews

Working for the British Council has been my dream since completing CELTA. I think it’s safe to say that everything I’ve been doing in my career so far is to eventually get me to the BC. The last two interviews I’ve had with International House had me nervous and sweating. You can only imagine how it feels to have two British Council interviews in the same week. My sweat glands are basically on overdrive. 

I feel like the second interview went better than the first because I had an idea of what to expect and I felt a bit more relaxed, like I’d already done one, so I’ll be fine for another. The questions were a bit different for both, but I still feel my answers were much better the second time around. 

The first interview actually took place on my birthday. I’m sure that had nothing to do with anything, but I had a lot of blank moments. I’d spent the days leading up to the interview trying to get my holiday brain back into teaching brain — made sure I had the language and terminology back in my head. I went over the guides they’d sent me and went full-on nerd mode preparing answers for any possible questions. In the end, I still felt like words were falling out of my brain. 

I definitely feel that I did my best for both, though. It would be amazing to get either position that I interviewed for, but if it’s not the right time yet, at least I know that what I have so far is enough to get me interviewed and I’ll keep trying till I get there. 

Leave a Reply

