Home

I’ve officially been on a break from teaching for two months now, half of which has been spent at home, up in the cold mountains. I’m enjoying being with my family, eating home-cooked meals, reading actual books with actual pages to turn, and drinking yummy cups of tea every day. I may never want to leave.

img_0819

I mostly stay home reading or practising my lettering and doodles. Some days I go for walks around the neighbourhood to stretch my legs, feel the cold air on my face, and get a bit of sunshine. Some days I go into town to run errands or see people (though that doesn’t happen often since I’m in full-hermit mode at the moment).

img_0817

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I’d like to do with my career. I wanted to relocate to start a new chapter in a new city – and I still do – but my knocks have gone unanswered so far, which leads me to think that there might be another step I need to take before that specific door is ready to open.

If this was a few years ago, I’d probably be panicking and going out of my mind. But I know better now and I understand that things happen when they’re meant to as long as I stay focused, positive, and productive.

In the meantime, I’m quite happy being home, exploring my creativity, and experiencing indecision about which book to read next.

“When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” – The Alchemist

img_0834

Leave a Reply

