Post-Vietnam Update

I haven’t been very good about writing over the last month or so — I got busy and writing took a back seat. But here I am, in an attempt to recap the highlights of the last few weeks.

My final week at work went by rather quickly. I had a nice farewell dinner with my colleagues on my final Sunday, and they gave me the traditional farewell card with lovely notes and well-wishes on my last day (a Tuesday) that I was quite touched by.

I spent another ten days in Vietnam after my contract ended, mostly packing up my apartment and eating at my favourite places. I did pretty well with throwing away and giving away my things. Unfortunately, it wasn’t nearly enough.

My check-in luggage was spot on at 40kg and I knew my carry-on was overweight for sure, but I decided to try my luck anyway. Checking in went smoothly and she didn’t weigh my carry-on so I thought I was going to get away with it. When I was about to go through to immigration though, the guy at the gate stopped me and told me that I had too much stuff. I attempted to argue with him, but he had weighing scales for eyes. I had to go back to weigh my stuff and eventually ended up paying for excess baggage.

I suppose I deserved it. I’d been lucky with that kind of stuff in the past and I always told myself I’d minimise to avoid having to go through that again in the future, but then never did it. So I see this as my final lesson — it took an exorbitant penalty to make it stick.

The next three weeks I spent on holiday in Singapore and Malaysia. I very much enjoyed going to the bookstores and seeing proper stationery options and displays after being so deprived of it in Hanoi. I was like a little kid so excited in the store, but at the same time Christmas songs were playing (which I despise), so I felt very conflicted. Also, lots of ramen.

Now I’m back home for the holidays stuffing my face with home-cooked food. It’s been nice being able to take a break from work for a while. I get to spend time with loved-ones, clear my head, and reboot for next year. Things I definitely need. Can’t think of a better way to end the year.

Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

