Home for the Holidays

With my third term completed in the first week of December and the next term not starting until the first week of January, I decided to come home for the holidays to spend some time with my family and see some old friends.

This break could not have come at a better time because after three terms, I was exhausted. The life of a teacher is no easy feat. It’s tiring, but at the same time, I really love what I do so I don’t mind the work, but I definitely still need a break once in a while.

I’m looking forward to the new term starting in around two weeks — I actually miss my students. It’s going to be a busy one because we’re expecting students for winter camp to come in on top of our regular students, so I will have my hands full.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about my professional development for the future, and I’ve decided to do the YL Extension early next year. This will help me a lot in transitioning from teaching adults to teaching children, and it’s a skill and qualification that is quite advantageous for career progression. Right now, I need to focus on completing the application form (ten pages long) and sending it in as soon as I can to reserve a spot. From there, it’s going to be a lot of reading and prep-work before the actual course begins, plus keeping up with all the work that I need to do for my day job.

For now, I’m enjoying my holiday and taking a break from work and career so that I can recharge in anticipation for 2015. I have a feeling that it will be a very busy yet fruitful year, and I’m really looking forward to it.

Happy holidays!

One thought on “Home for the Holidays

Leave a Reply

