Term Two

It’s one week into my second term and I have absolutely nothing to complain about. I’m teaching the same level as my first term — elementary learners — but I have a new set of students, currently twenty-five of them (thirteen in class 1, and twelve in class 2), names already memorised. They’re good students and I like them a lot, but I have to admit that I’ve been experiencing some sort of “separation anxiety” and I really miss my students from last term. I still get to see them around school and also outside school sometimes, and it’s great when I do, so that’s nice. Once in a while, they’ll drop by my classroom to say hello or to give me coffee, and it always makes me smile when that happens.

The good thing about repeating a term is that I’m already familiar with the material that needs to be taught and my lesson plans are already done. What I’m working on now is improving the lessons so that they’re better and more effective than last term’s. There are so many aspects of my teaching that need work, so I’m using this term to improve on most of them and polish them up so that by the time my third term comes around, I will be more comfortable and more confident.

Nearly two months into the new job and I’m quite happy about how things are going. I’m really thankful for how the universe seems to have plotted to bring me to where I am, and I’d like to think that everything has happened exactly the way that it should have to get me here.

I haven’t been feeling any sort of homesickness yet, but I have to admit that I am missing a few things from back home.

  • My family (but that’s obviously a given).
  • Home cooked meals (my mom’s cooking, specifically).
  • Food that isn’t spicy.
  • The weather.
  • My books.
  • My xbox.
2 thoughts on “Term Two

  1. “You can be whatever you want to be!” All your hard work and perseverance has brought you to where you are today. So proud of you. All the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

